Myspace Vs Facebook

I’ve been doing a fair bit of playing with Facebook lately. It seems pretty good. A nice Web 2.0 application, which shits all over the myspace UI design. Okay, you can’t customize style sheets, but personally, I’m more than happy with that. The number of disgusting myspace pages out there absolutely offends my sense of UI design. People who use the CSS to make their pages unreadable should not be allowed accounts. In my opinion, that level of customization shouldn’t be allowed by people who have no idea of how CSS works, and good design knowledge. So that’s where Facebook really kicks butt. No user CSS customization. At least within the UI. You can, however, add a (real) user style sheet to Facebook. There are a number of predesigned Firefox extensions that let you do this, and that’s how user CSS should be used in my opinion. Let me decide how to format and colour your page. Don’t make me see your appalling attempt at it. It’ll just make me think you’re an idiot.

I also love the drag and click model of the UI widgets. Why has myspace been so slow in adopting this, when Facebook does it so easily?

I think there are some very childish and useless widgets on Facebook though. That bloody Zombie widget that’s taking over at the moment, and the number of different Wall widgets seems a bit silly. Perhaps the Facebook team could spend a bit more time vetting what’s made available. Perhaps even commission the good ones, and dump the dodgy ones. I also like the model of making a few dollars by writing a decent widget that costs pennies to the user, but can reap huge rewards for the developer. I’m considering writing one myself to practice my Web2.0 and PHP skills. I’m about to go read the developer doc and see how it all works. Might be a fun little project. Perhaps a customizable style sheet? Argh!

So far I’ve managed to intergrate my flickr site with Facebook, and I’m about to figure out how I can link in my blogs other than just using links. If you know, please feel free to post a comment and let me know. Any other Facebook hints would be handy too.

One Response to Myspace Vs Facebook

  1. Ilia Kincade says:

    Search Directory Page

    Thank you for your post!

Leave a Reply

